First official knitting blog post, or Why I Knit Inside-Out

Welcome to the first post of my official knitting blog! I’ve had a regular old blog over at Livejournal for about 3.5 years, but lately I’ve been talking about knitting so much that I think it’s time to spare the sensibilities of my LJ friends and break off the knitting talk into a completely separate blog.

SO, let the games begin!

Saturday night I broke new ground in my ongoing quest to Be The Best Knitter I Can Be: I performed my first tubular cast-on. The Italian Tubular Cast-on, to be exact. It was a little scary, especially when it came time to pull the yarn out from inside the tube, but it was worth it!

The purpose of all that? To make Eunny Jang’s Endpaper Mitts. I’ve been wanting to knit these puppies almost as long as I’ve been aware of Eunny’s blog (so, about eight months), and the sudden drop in temperature around here inspired me to temporarily drop the Sesame I was working on, so I could make something to keep my hands warm for my winter knitting projects. I’m almost done with the first mitt, and I’m very pleased at how well my first foray into colorwork is going. (Pictures forthcoming.)

Last night I went to my first knitting meet ever. I met up at Perk ‘n’ Pub with some ladies I met in the Wisconsin group on Ravelry. It was so nice to not only hang out with knitters, but to hang out with knitters who are aware of things like Ravelry, Knitty, etc. I mean, sure, my grandma knows how to knit, but there’s a bit of a disconnect between generations of knitters pre and post-internet.

A couple of the ladies were surprised to see me knitting my Endpaper Mitts inside out on the DPNs. Yeah, about that. I’ve only done about two projects on DPNs, and I’m aware that I knit inside-out. It never occurred to me that I’m in the minority on that; for some reason I feel like the Stitch ‘n’ Bitch book (from which I primarily taught myself to knit) specifically told me to hold the working needles away from me, but maybe I’ve got it mixed up. Either way, I don’t consider it a problem, as long as I’m aware that the right side of my work is on the inside as I knit. In fact, when starting the Endpaper Mitts, I toyed with the idea of knitting right-side-out for once, but didn’t for two reasons:

1. I’m used to the inside-out method.

2. Knitting inside-out prevents my floats from cutting straight across at the corners between needles, and keeps the floats at a looser tension in general, which I like.

So…that’s that!

November 6, 2007. Uncategorized.

4 Comments

  1. Francesca replied:

    It never occurred to me to knit inside out, but in the case of stranded color knitting I think it makes a lot of sense. I tried stranded knitting in the round once and my tension so off that the sock was several sizes smaller than I had intended. Next time, I’ll give inside out knitting a try. 🙂

  2. Ruth replied:

    So much of this made no sense to me, yet I enjoyed reading it in spite of that fact. Go figure.

    And way to commit Stitchuesque to ePrint! =D

  3. mayyan replied:

    I noticed that I was making my most recent knit in the round piece inside out. It just balanced out the weight of the piece better that way. I’m going to do the stranded work inside out too. I like how you say it helped you with the strands. I’m sure it’ll help me make sure I have enough room to carry the yarn… 🙂

  4. orierumvelve replied:

    hm.. very nice

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

